How to reset audacity settings to default

Preferences let you readjust many of the default habits of Audacity. The Preferences dialog have the right to be accessed using the Edit Menu (or by utilizing the shortreduced CTRL + P). On a Mac, Preferrals is under the Audacity Menu (shortreduced CMND + ,).

The Preferences dialog is break-up right into seventeen sections:

SectionWhat it controls
DevicesChoose audio hold, playago and recording devices and also recording channels.

You watching: How to reset audacity settings to default

PlaybackLength of previews for cuts and also effects; playearlier seek times.
RecordingSettings for playthrough, latency and Sound Activated Recording.
QualityChoose sample rate, sample format and also alternatives for rate and format convariation.
InterfaceInterface actions, dB screen selection, pick language and area of Manual, display initial "Help" dialog.
TracksTracks display screen and behavior; habits of the Solo button.
Import / ExportImporting: if audio is replicated into jobs, if tracks are normalized. Exporting: just how audio is blended, if Metainformation Editor shows up, Allegro exports.
Extended ImportSpecify different importers to open particular audio file extensions.
ProjectsWhether to copy in dependent audio files when saving projects, or ask.
LibrariesDownpack and locate the optional LAME and also FFmpeg libraries.
SpectrogramsSetups for presentation of spectrograms.

See more: How To Disable Access To Removable Storage Devices Folder Windows 10 ?

DirectoriesLocation of the temporary documents directory.
WarningsWarn or not as soon as disk room is low on startup, when saving projects, mixing down or importing uncompressed audio papers.
EffectsEnable or disable results by type: LADSPA, Nyquist, VAMP, Audio Units, VST. Control screen of Audio Units and also VST effects.
KeyboardKeyboard shortcuts for regulates.
MouseMouse shortcuts for regulates.
ModulesEnable any accessible speculative modules.

Note: Choice of export format (WAV, MP3 and also others) is made at time of export in the Documents Export or Export Multiple dialogs by choosing the compelled export format then clicking the adjacent Options... button.

Wright here are Preferrals stored?

Starting through variation 1.3 Audacity Precommendations are stored in a configuration file referred to as audacity.cfg. It is a text file conserved on each clean leave of Audacity and also can be edited through any type of message editor. The file is stored inside Audacity"s folder for application data:

Windows 98/ME: WindowsApplication DataAudacity Windows 2000/XP: Documents and Settings\Application DataAudacity Windows Vista/7: Users\AppDataRoamingAudacity OS X: ~/Library/Application Support/audacity/ Linux: ~/.audacity-data/

However before if you create a folder referred to as "Portable Settings" in the exact same brochure as the Audacity executable, "audacity.cfg" will certainly be stored tright here instead. If you copy this "Portable Settings" folder to a USB stick or CD this lets you take your present Audacity settings with you if you use Audacity on one more computer system.


Resetting Preferences

Resetting preferences to factory defaults by initializing the audacity.cfg settings file to its original contents can occasionally fix freezes, crashes or undescribed actions.

Exit Audacity. Open audacity.cfg in a text editor such as Notepad and rerelocate all the content other than the line. NewPrefsInitialized=1
(you have the right to uncover this at or near the height of the file as soon as you open it) Save the transforms to audacity.cfg and also rebegin Audacity.
If you have actually never previously run a 1.2 variation of Audacity on your computer, you can recollection choices even more easily by deleting audacity.cfg while Audacity is closed. See listed below if you have actually formerly run Audacity 1.2.

Windows users might alternatively run the .exe installer from http://audacity.sourceforge.net/download/windows which has actually an choice to reset preferences.

To recollection preferences, navigate to the "Select Additional Tasks" screen then put a examine mark in the "Recollection Preferences" box. After completing installation, launching Audacity will certainly screen a dialog wright here you deserve to confirm if you desire to reset choices this when, or not. If you run the installer yet do not pick "Reset Preferences", the installation documents will be reput through correct copies just as when choosing to recollection choices, however the Audacity settings will certainly remajor as before. This is unlikely to correct most Audacity troubles.
*
For those who have actually ever used legacy 1.2 Audacity versions: The above measures to reset preferences will certainly not influence the 1.2 settings, but if you merely delete audacity.cfg and 1.2 settings still exist, some settings in present Audacity will certainly recollection to their 1.2 values. This might therefore not deal with any type of problems you were trying to resolve in existing Audacity.

If you wish to recollection the 1.2 settings also, you have the right to delete the Windows registry key HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareAudacity, the "audacity" file in your Library (OS X) or the file ~/.audacity (Linux).

See more: Internet Lag Spikes Every Few Seconds : Techsupport, Massive Ping Spikes Every 10


*
Modifying the Windows Registry can be dangerous! Before editing and enhancing the Registry, constantly earlier it up, or set a System Restore point on Windows XP or later.